Aussie woman’s FaceTime call freezes after flashing partner — Apple explains

Aussie woman’s FaceTime call freezes after flashing partner — Apple explains



An Australian woman has been left shocked and questioning her privacy after a sexual gesture during a FaceTime call with her boyfriend was instantly intercepted and shut down by her iPhone.

Frankie*, 25, who was chatting with her partner during his lunch break, decided to expose her breasts to him.

She then explained that the call abruptly came to a grinding halt after an Apple message came up on her partner’s screen.

“Are you sure you want to stay on this call?” the message read.

It claimed that the call was paused because it potentially showed nudity.

“The call stopped — as in it paused,” Frankie told news.com.au exclusively.

Australian woman Frankie, 25, got a shock when her iPhone paused a FaceTime call after she exposed her breasts to her boyfriend. Sasint – stock.adobe.com

“I couldn’t speak to him, and he couldn’t speak to me.

“It just looked like he had paused on my end — like he’d turned his camera off, but there was no sound or anything. It was as if I got put on hold.”

Initially confused by the sudden dropout, she was stunned when her partner unpaused the call and showed her what had happened.

She saw the message and thought, “What the hell?”.

The message also offered help, asking, “How do you feel? You don’t have to stay on this call if you don’t want to,” alongside buttons to either end the call (“Not Now”) or override the block (“Yes, Continue”).

The experience sparked immediate concern for Frankie, who admits the speed and accuracy of the detection felt intrusive.

“You don’t even know what Apple have, what they don’t, or what they see,” she said.

“It just catches you off guard.”

She then started questioning her choices because of this revelation.

“What if you’re away and having phone sex or something? I went down a whole spiral thinking, what if it doesn’t recognise your body because of what their algorithm thinks nudity ‘should’ look like? What is their standard of what it’s supposed to look like?” Frankie revealed.

What is actually happening?

After searching online, Frankie discovered she had triggered Apple’s Sensitive Content Warning feature.

News.com.au reached out to Apple, who then pointed us to its Support Page online, which states that the safety system is designed to detect and blur photos and videos containing nudity, gore, or violence before a user can view them, but its integration into live video calls like FaceTime operates differently — completely pausing and freezing the stream when a breach is suspected.

The feature is optional for adult users and can be toggled on or off in settings under Privacy & Security and then Sensitive Content Warning.

An Apple message popped up, asking “Are you sure you want to stay on this call?” after detecting nudity on FaceTime.. Apple

For child accounts managed through Screen Time, the feature, known as Communication Safety, can be permanently enabled by parents to intervene when nudity is detected.

While the sudden block can make it feel like there is an active eye on your private conversations, Apple assures users that its systems are strictly private.

According to Apple’s official support documentation, the feature uses “on-device machine learning” to analyse photos and videos.

Because photos and videos are analyzed on your device, Apple doesn’t receive an indication that sensitive content was detected and doesn’t get access to the photos or videos.

This means that while the AI on the iPhone itself was smart enough to recognise Frankie’s body and freeze the transmission, no visual data was sent back to Apple’s servers or seen by any human moderators.

Other similar instances

After the incident, Frankie did some internet research to make sure she “wasn’t alone”, and saw there were other people in the same boat as her.

She discovered a Reddit thread where people shared their own experiences discovering this setting.

The initial post read: “I decided to show my boyfriend my new bikini that I got for our upcoming cruise … Why is this on my phone and why is it recording my body? I just recently turned 18 if that matters”.

The post sparked a huge conversation, including people who were shocked by the surprising revelation.

“Privacy is a myth. Now you know,” one person commented.

“The only infuriating thing is the fact that they apparently were forced to implement such a feature. Too much creeps out there,” a second expressed.

“It’s pretty brilliant, actually. Creepy, but brilliant,” a third wrote.

“Why are you surprised? You are holding a data-collecting sponge in your hand,” a fourth echoed.

Apple says its Sensitive Content Warning uses on-device machine learning, ensuring no data is sent to its servers. fizkes – stock.adobe.com

Although there were many people who were in support of Apple’s feature, calling it a “great” addition to the system settings.

“Girl, this is a blessing in disguise,” one person wrote.

“This is what you call a great safety feature. One-touch option to proceed anyway if you really want to show whatever you’re showing, but an opportunity to save lives for those too dumb or naive to realise the dangers of sexting. Mildly infuriating? More like a mild blessing,” a fourth wrote.

Will she do it again?

Despite the message catching her off guard, Frankie says she won’t let the software stop her — though she’s made some adjustments.

“Yeah, I’ll still do it! But I told him to turn the setting off on his phone, obviously,” she shared.

*Name changed for privacy



Source link

Posted in

Liam Redmond

As an editor at Forbes Europe, I specialize in exploring business innovations and entrepreneurial success stories. My passion lies in delivering impactful content that resonates with readers and sparks meaningful conversations.

Leave a Comment